13 Duets from Bach’s French and English Suites (Flute and Cello)


These duets are drawn from the French and English suites of Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Bach wrote the English suites (BWV 806-811) after 1715 and the French suites (BWV 812-817) around 1722. Some pieces have been transposed; original keys are indicated before each piece. I have included tempi and initial dynamics; these are only suggestions.

In order to maintain a “cleaner” appearance, I have included the original ornament symbols, rather than writing out the ornaments. A number of websites and books include descriptions of Baroque ornaments.

These pieces are not intended to function as a single composition, as the original tonal relationships of the suites have been removed. Therefore, they may be enjoyed as individual movements or as a collection of small, independent pieces. Soli Deo gloria

Movements Included

The following movements are included:

1. French Suite II, Courante
2. French Suite II, Air
3. French Suite II, Menuet
4. French Suite II, Gigue
5. French Suite IV, Gavotte
6. English Suite I, Bourrée I
7. English Suite I, Bourrée II
8. English Suite II, Bourrée I
9. English Suite II, Gigue
10. English Suite III, Gavotte I
11. English Suite IV, Menuet I
12. English Suite V, Passepied
13. English Suite VI, Gavotte II

PDF Score and Parts

Revision History

This is the first version and no revisions/updates have been posted yet.

music, classical, flute, violoncello, woodwinds


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.